20,150 runners: record number of participants

Ideal weather conditions for the 15th Borealis Linz Donau Marathon on Sunday, April 3rd 2016. With 20,150 runners an absolute record number of participants in the fifteen-year history of the Linz Marathon was achieved the first time.

The athletes ensured impressive times, however, the course record of 2: 07.33 hours by Ukrainian Alexander Kuzin could not be broken. The Kenyan Edwin Koech finished the Borealis Linz Donau Marathon 2016 with 2: 09.6 - the third-best time of the marathon competition in the past fifteen years.

Ethiopian Beriso Halima Hassen wins women's title in Linz with 2:38:13.
Second place goes to Jasmina Ilijas, Croatia, in 2:54:05 and third to Lucie Klimesova, Czech, in 3:09:44.

Results 2016 >>

Winners in Linz since the beginning

2002 John Kiproni, Kenya
2003 Joseph Mereng, Kenya
2004 John Kiprono cheering for the second time
2005 Ernest Kipyego, Kenya
2006 Benjamin Itok, Kenya
2007 Alexander Kuzin, Ukraine. first European wins with a record time 2:07:33
2008 Elisa Kiptum Maindi, Kenya
2009 Elisa Kiptum Maindi, Kenya
2010 Jason Mbote, Kenya
2011 Nixon Kipkoech Machichim, Kenya
2012 Josephat Keiyo, Kenya
2013 Robert Kwambai, Kenya
2014 Laban Mutai, Kenya with 2:08:03
2015 Anthony Maritiem, Kenya with 2:09:39
2016 Edwin Koech with 2:09:06, third best time ever in Linz